Meet the Maker – 19th November

 

Had an interesting time on the 19th November for ‘Meet the Maker‘ at The Leeds Craft Centre and Design Gallery (LCCDG). A few people came to see me and and look at the work. It was good experience. Especially the bottle of wine given to me as a thank you from the LCCDG!

It was encouraging to see people come to support the event. A farmer came in especially to see me and talk about the Great Pottery Throw Down, which he and his wife enjoyed. He had a lot to say to me and was surprised that there wasn’t a crowd around me wanting to buy my work and to talk about the show.

He raised some interesting questions. He expected more from me as a potter. Why wasn’t I on TV? Where was my agent? Where were the all the people? Why are you not in demand? Why are you not shouting about your greatness from the hill tops?

These questions are very relevant. My decision to appear on the Great Pottery Throw Down was not taken lightly. I wanted to promote my visibility as a potter and as a Visual Artist and Maker. I wanted to boost my sales and increase my income and develop my brand (what ever that is). I think I have done that to some degree but it has not been to the degree I would have wished. I don’t know what I could have done, that I haven’t done already, to make myself or my work a sought after commodity.

I am on the main social networks such as Facebook  and Twitter and Instagram. The followers are not huge in numbers but I have some visibility. I post regularly, I like and comment and share follower posts. I don’t know what else to do. It makes me question whether the work I have chosen to do is the right choice or maybe I just haven’t been at the right place at the right time yet.

I make good quality well designed pieces that are  always evolving. I am constantly testing and experimenting with glazes, clays and surface designs. Currently trying to make grey glaze, nightmare.

One thing I have learnt is that when it comes to social media, popularity isn’t always about skill and talent. How one looks plays an enormous part and whether what you have to say sits well with the popular culture even if it is a load of rubbish. (At this point I could go into a discussion about age, gender, ethnicity and beauty standards but I will save that for some other time)

I will carry on making and marketing my products the best way I can and hope I can build a following that likes and supports what I say and do.

I can always go for the last option and show a nipple or two. That seems to get peoples attention. 🙂

15048146_1696241977356110_4048526595156082

 

Leave a Reply

