Latest out of the kiln

The following images are not actually the latest out of the kiln. The stoneware firing (cone 6) I did last week was the last thing out the kiln, for me, they were a disaster.  So much so that it makes me question why I do this pottery/ceramic thing. I am slowly getting past it and realise that I was trying too many new glazes on really well made work, not taking notice of the firing temperatures and the soak times, making them unsaleable and ugly. A stupid thing to do. I ought to know better.

One positive is that I think I made a grey glaze that I can live with. Using an adjusted recipe from ‘The Glaze Book’ by Stephen Murfitt:

  • Potash Feldspar         45
  • Dolomite                     22
  • Quartz                          16
  • Zirconium Silicate    11
  • China Clay                   6
  • Cobalt Carbonate       0.5
  • Nickel Oxide                2

Also bought Linda Bloomfields  ‘The Handbook of Glaze recipes’ . There are grey glaze recipes in there I am yet to try.

Some earthenware pieces that are out on display in  The Summerhouse The Corn Exchange Leeds. What do you think? (I don’t know why I ask.)

SAZi images March 2017 044

Leave a Reply

